Friday, October 9, 2015

Music For Life Episode 94 - University Orchestra, Clubbing for Classical Musicians, Decoda

In this week's episode of Music for Life, Music from DePauw...

Ensemble-in Residence, Decoda
Burke Stanton talks to first-year music major Jacqueline Robertson about the Shostakovich symphony the orchestra recently performed...

21CM director Mark Rabideau interviews classical musician author Sarah Robinson about her new book “Clubbing for Classical Musicians,” a must-read for any up-and-coming musician...

we present some terrific performances from this past week...

and I sit down with three members of Decoda, this year’s Ensemble-in-Residence, for a lively conversation about their innovative performances and collaborations in the changing world of classical music!


From their performance of September 20, 2015, the DePauw University Orchestra, under the direction of Orcenith Smith, performs the fourth movement, Allegro non troppo, from Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, op. 47.

At this week’s recital hour, Decoda members violinist Anna Elashvili, violist Nathan Schram, and cellist Caitlin Sullivan performed the first movement, Adagio - Allegro con brio, from Ludwig van Beethoven’s op. 9, no. 1 string trio.

From their performance of October 7th, the DePauw Jazz Ensemble, led by Steve Snyder, performs Frank Foster’s “Four, Five, Six.”

No comments:

Post a Comment